Australian Christian Books of the Year 2009

Posted on August 28, 2009 
Filed under News

Preach or PerishSPCK Australia has announced its 2009 Australian Christian Literature Awards. Here’s the list – 

2009 Australian Christian Book of the Year Award
For a work by an Australian author and published by an Australian publisher.

No ordinary view: A season of faith and mission in the Himalayas by Naomi Reed (Ark House Press)

Joint 2nd Prize
Catherine’s gift: Inside the world of Dr Catherine Hamlin  by John Little (Pan Macmillan Australia)
Leadership on the front foot
by Zachary Veron (Anglican Press Australia)
Preach or perish: Reaching the hearts and minds of the world today
by Donald Howard (ed) (Donald and Nan Howard)

2009 Australian Christian Theological Writers’ Award
Open to books by Australian writers, published anywhere.

Paul Barnett for After Jesus, Volume 3: Finding the Historical Christ (William B Eerdmans, Grand Rapids)

Honourable Mentions
Michael Bird for A Bird’s eye view of Paul: The man, his mission and his message (InterVarsity Press, Nottingham)
Andrew Sloane for At home in a strange land: Using the Old Testament in Christian ethics (Hendrickson, Peabody)
Roy Williams for God, Actually (ABC Books, Sydney)

2009 Young Australian Christian Writer of the Year Award
For an unpublished manuscript by an Australian under the age of thirty.

Leng Te for Into your mystery

2nd Prize
Justin Denholm for Talking about ethics

Source: SPKA.